Wike Inaugurates Governing Council Of Tertiary Institutions

Nyesom-WikeTHE Rivers State Governor, Chief Nyesom Wike, has inaugurated four governing councils for the state-owned tertiary institutions, with a clear directive for them to stabilise their various institutions.

The names of the institutions whose governing councils were inaugurated are: Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Nkpolu; Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Rumuolumeni; Kenule Beeson Saro-Wiwa Polytechnic, Bori; and the Rivers State College of Arts and Science, Port Harcourt.

Wike, who remarked that the four institutions have always been enmeshed in crises, said their respective chairmen and pro–chancellors were selected on the basis of merit, experience and capabilities to stabilise the institutions.

He acknowledged the presence of the vice chancellors, provost and rector, respectively, of the schools, noting that they functioned in acting capacities, and charged the newly appointed pro-chancellors and chairmen to work hard and make them substantive.

The governor remarked that the Rivers State College of Arts and Science had already been upgraded to the status of a polytechnic by the National Board of Technical Education (NBTE), but was yet to become a reality, adding that the new governing council had a duty to achieve that objective.

No Comments yet