Nigeria’s para-powerliting team off to Mexico for World Championship

Nigeria Weightlifting Federation

Nigeria’s team to the World Para-Powerliting Championship holding from today to December 9, 2017 in Mexico will depart the country this evening aboard a South African Airlines flight.

The 18–man contingent is made up of 11 powerlifters and seven officials.

Made up of four men and seven women, the lifters include 2016 Nigeria Sportsman of the Year award winner, Kehinde Paul, who won Gold Medal at the RIO 2016 Paralympic Games in Brazil, Yakubu Adesokan, Ezuruike Roland and Innocent Nnamdi. The women are Omolayo Bose, Oluwafemilayo Shade, Tijani Latifa, Ejike Lucy, Obiji Loveline, Nwosu Ndidi and Ibrahim Olaitan.

The officials include the Nigeria Para-Powerlifting President, Sunlola Johnson, the Secretary General, Abulude Dayo, the two Coaches, Igbiti Patience (female) and Ibeh Luke (Male), two helpers, Ajala Omowunmi (Female), Godwin Nwaezeama – helper/loader (Male) and Ogunkunle Ekundayo, who is the team Doctor.

The female coach, Patience Igbiti, who is optimistic of a good outing in Mexico, said though Nigeria would not be at the championship with her full team, the team will not disappoint the country.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet