Minister charges restructuring committee to develop sports

Sports Minister/Chairman of the NSC, Solomon Dalung

Sports Minister/Chairman of the NSC, Solomon Dalung

Sports Minister, Solomon Dalung, yesterday in Abuja inaugurated a ministerial committee to restructure Nigerian sports for effective redevelopment.

Speaking while inaugurating the committee, Dalung charged the members to design a new architecture that will restructure Nigerian sports from the service oriented model to development oriented model, which will enhance the effective and enduring sports development in the country.

He urged the committee to work assiduously in identifying the major obstacles to sports development in the country.

“Develop a sustainable framework for sports development, which will build a strong base for the systemic discovery, identification, training and deployment of athletes into sporting activities,” he said.

According to the Minister, the committee is also expected to develop a holistic framework, including, legal and other arrangements to professionalise sports and provide alternative career options for the country’s teeming youths.

He enjoined the committee to “recommend ways of reconstituting the sports federations/associations in a way that all stakeholders have a say and attract passionate, knowledgeable and resourceful leadership.

“Identify, suggest and recommend alternative sources of revenue for the funding of sports development in Nigeria.”

Dalung also commended the 12-member committee, which is headed by Mr. Godwin Kienka, for their sense of patriotism to undertake the national assignment with no pay from the Ministry.

Speaking on behalf of the committee, Kienka thanked the Federal Government for the opportunity to serve and promised that the committee would ensure that it delivers on its mandate.

The committee, which has Dr. A. Are as secretary, has 90 days, beginning from Monday April 11, 2016, to complete its assignment and submit a detailed report to the minister.

Other members of the committee are Mr. Segun Odegbami, Mr. Fatai Williams, Col. Ahmed Sam, Mrs. Mary Onyali, Dr. Bola Oredele and Mr. Yusuf Datti.

Also in the committee are Mr. Kayode Thomas, Ayo Olubato, Mr. Waziri Laminu and Despan Kwardem.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet