Lobi Stars, Akwa United Battle For Federation Cup


The trophy at stake in today’s final between Lobi Stars and Akwa United

• Sunshine Queens, Bayelsa Queens Clash
For Women Crown
• Yekini, Ogedegbe, Ekpo to be honoured
FOOTBALL fans from Lagos and environs will have a swell time at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos, when 2003 champions, Lobi Stars, confront new comers, Akwa United, in the final of this year’s Federation Cup.

The stadium, which has been thrown open to fans free of charge, will also witness a battle of two queens when Sunshine Queens from Akure, Ondo State, battle their counterparts from Bayelsa for the right to be known as the best female team in Nigeria. The women match begins by 1.00 p.m., while the men’s final will kick off by 3.30 p.m.

A total prize money of N6m will be up for grabs, with the winner in the male category going home with a trophy and N2m, while N1m will go to the runners-up.

Also in the women category, N1m and a trophy will be for the winner and N.5m for the runners-up.
Other prizes include, N.3m for the Most Valuable Player (MVP), N.3m for the top goal scorer and N.3m for fair play in the male group, and N.2m for MVP, N.1m for top goal scorer and N.2m for the fair play for women.

According to the Director General of Lagos State Sports Commission, Mr. Ayodeji Agbesanwa, there will be adequate and effective security for every fan, especially those that will be coming with their families.

One of today’s highlights include, three posthumous awards to heroes of Challenge Cup, now Fed Cup, and other living legends, referees and journalists.

Those to be recognised post humously include, Rashidi Yekini, Baba Otu Mohammed, Best Ogedegbe and Okey Isima.
Other awardees include Friday Ekpo, Sam Opone, Amusa Adisa, Inua Rigogo, Dairu Sadi, and Ifeanyi Onyedika of Enugu Rangers. Also included are, former FIFA graded referee, Linus MBA, and veteran journalist, Segun Adenuga.

The first 500 fans to enter the stadium have been promised free T-shirts, just as raffle tickets will be given to all fans, who stand the chance of winning N200,000 cash.

No Comments yet