Crisp, Marion, others win Coca Cola Boat Championship


Contestants battling the waves during the just concluded NBC Boat Racing Championship.

Lloyd Crisp and Claire Marion were among the winners at the 2015 National Boat Racing Championship sponsored by the Nigerian Bottling Company (NBC) Limited, which ended at the Lagos Yacht Club, Marina on Saturday.

The championship featured several strong competing teams from which the Crisp and Marion team came first in the Hobie Class. Other winners at the championship watched by boat race enthusiasts, staff of NBC and Coca Cola, as well as members of the club were Josh Pokluda, Dan Cox and Nolan O’Neal, who teamed-up to win the Yacht Lightning Category and Sam Coomben and Dan Wottonn, who won the Mixed Monohull Category.

The event featured over 20 strong teams in Monohull, Lightning, and Hobie races. Speaking at the event, NBC Limited Commercial Director, Matthieu Seguin, said the company has supported the tournament for three consecutive years because sports is a veritable and viable platform for national development.

Seguin said this year’s tournament saw a high turnout of boat racing enthusiasts, saying the sponsorship was in line with NBC’s commitment to the development of sports in the country, which it has demonstrated through sponsorship of the National Sports Festival, tagged Eko 2012 and the COPA Coca-Cola youth football tournament, among others.

Also speaking at the tournament, NBC’s Director of Human Resources, Mrs. Grace Omo-lamai, said, “our sponsorship of the National Boat Racing Championship is part of our overall contribution to the growth and development of sports in Nigeria.

Sponsorships such as these do not only create excitement amongst participants, but also generates economic opportunities for people who serve as service providers for the tournament, thus contributing generally to the health and economic development of our communities.”

No Comments yet