CMB 2016 south-West Rugby Union League kicks off

The CMB Building Maintenance and Investment Company Limited sponsored Friends of Rugby South-West League, kicks off today at the main bowl of the National Stadium, Lagos.

The 2016 league will feature major changes in the competition’s history, as the league has been divided into two divisions. Four teams will participate in Premier Division, while three teams are in the Division two category.

The league, which is sanctioned by Nigeria Rugby Football Federation (NRFF), will feature six Lagos-based teams and one team from Ilorin, Kwara State.

According to the Chairman of CMB, Kelechukwu Mbagwu, sponsoring the Rugby league is part of his efforts to help Nigerian youths develop their skills in the sport.

“Youth participation and interest in rugby is getting more attention in Nigeria, that is why we have decided to divide the competition into two to increase the participation of more players.

“The first four teams from last season are grouped into the Premier Division and the bottom four into Division two. The bottom team in the premier division will be relegated to the lower Division, while the winner in Division two will be promoted to the Premier Division, ” he said.

According to the organisers of the event, the League will serve as a platform for players’ selection by the NRFF technical team for the 15s Africa Cup engagement in Morocco slated for July.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No Comments yet