18 teams fight for final eight playoff in Asaba


….as Zenith Bank Basketball League second phase begins

The second phase of the Zenith Bank Women Basketball League dunks off today at the Asaba Township Stadium, Delta State, with 18 teams drawn from across the country slugging it out for the final eight playoff spots.

According to the Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF), all 18 clubs will be grouped into two groups of A and B.

Defending champions, Dolphins of Lagos, will be the team to beat in Group A, which also has four-time champions, First
Deepwater, which is currently placed fifth in the group with three wins after eight games played at the first phase in Abuja.

Other teams in Group A are home team, Delta Force, Nigeria Customs, GT 2000 of Kaduna, Zamfara Babes, AHIP Queens of Kano, Oluyole Babes of Ibadan and Nigeria Immigration.

Leading Group B is Nigeria’s most decorated women team, First Bank. With six titles of the Zenith Bank Women league, the Elephant Girls are set to continue from where they left off from the first phase. But they might face some strong opposition from rejuvenated IGP Queens of Lagos.

Others in the group that might want to challenge the dominance of the two-time Africa Champions include inform Plateau Rocks of Jos, Benue Princess, FCT Angels of Abuja, Sunshine Angels of Akure, NasarawaAmazons, Taraba Hurricanes and Enugu Coal City side.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet