Nigeria’s Yemi Alade, Funke Akindele-Bello battle For Nickelodeon Kids Choice Awards

Yemi Alade

Ahead of this year’s Nickelodeon Kids Choice Awards, organisers have unveiled actress and producer, Funke Akindele-Bello and Award winning singer, Yemi Alade for the award, where kids’ votes count and the biggest stars of the day line up to get slimed.

Celebrating kids’ favourites from across the worlds of film, television, music and pop culture, Yemi Alade and Funke Akindele-Bello have been nominated alongside Trevor Noah, Lupita Nyong’o, Pearl Thusi and Wayde van Niekerk in the Favourite African Star category.

Hosted by WWE Superstar John Cena, Nickelodeon’s 2017 Kids’ Choice Awards takes place on Saturday, March 11, at the USC’s Galen Center in Los Angeles and premieres simultaneously on Nickelodeon (DStv channel 305) and NickToons (DStv channel 308) at 2:40PM on Wednesday 15 March.

Yemi Alade and Funke Akindele – Bello join a long list of international nominees at this years KCAs, including Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill, Daya, Chris Evans, Idris Elba, Megan Fox, Lukas Graham, Kevin Hart, Scarlett Johansson, Dwayne Johnson, Felicity Jones, Leslie Jones, Anna Kendrick, Bruno Mars, Melissa McCarthy, JoJo Siwa, The Chainsmokers, Justin Timberlake, Twenty One Pilots and more.

To vote for the Favourite African Star category, viewers are expected to use the hashtag #KCAAfricanStar and the hashtag for your chosen nominee on Twitter @NickAfrica, or post the hashtag on Facebook especially on www.Facebook.Com/Nickelodeo nAfrica tagging your favourite nominee.

Fans also can vote by going to, the official destination for everything Kids’ Choice Awards, for hilarious videos, the KCA Creator game, quizzes and pictures, and to get the latest KCA news on this year’s show, nominees and attendees.
Stars will vie for the famous Nickelodeon “blimp” trophy across ten music categories, with Bruno Mars, Justin Timberlake and Twenty One Pilots topping the list with four nominations each.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet