The thrills, frills of Ososo Carnival

OS-CAN-8THERE is no better way to celeberate the end of the year than to have fun in a convivial, serene countryside home. The people of Ososo in Akoko Edo area of Edo State must have realised this, when they rolled out the drums to mark the 4th edition of its yearly carnival, last December.

   Bringing together sons and daughters of the land and their friends, the 2014 edition of the carnival that started four years ago featured an education summit, Miss Afemai and the Face of Ososo competitions, beauty pageant, Oruku rock climbing competition, street dance and different cultural theatrics that showcased some cultural heritage of the town located at the northern part of the state.

   Beginning with burn fire night, the Miss Afemai and Face of Ososo competitions, which were keenly contested, saw Miss Irete Olorunmo emerge Miss Afemai, while Face of Ososo went to Miss Patience Ochedu.

  Aside from the fun and feasting, the event, which served as a platform to network, also witnessed Class of 1984 of Ososo Grammar School mark their 30th anniversary of leaving the school. Different awards were presented to some of the old students, who have distinguished themselves in diverse fields and contributed to the development of the school.

   With Hon. Peter Akpatasin as special guest of honour, Hon Emmanuel Agbaje, chief host, and the chairman Akoko Edo local council area, Joseph Folorunsho Akerejola in attendance, the colourful event showcased the rich culture of the people.   

   Speaking at the award ceremony, the chairman, Group of 84, Mr. Mike Adadja, said, “the aim of the association, Ososo Grammar School (OSGRAM 1984), is to bring old students and members of the school, who have excelled in different fields together to develop the school.”

   He commended the awardees for paying the WAEC/NECO fees of some of the indigent students and for distributing educational materials, aside from contributing to the renovation of some of the dilapidated school structures.

  Among the awardees were the president, Ososo Grammar school old students association, Chief James Eshimakhe Otaru, who recently retired as a director from the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) and former director of Nigeria Television Authority (NTA), Mallam Musa Maiyaki, who recently awarded scholarships to some students of the school. Others include Group Capt. Bayo Ojo and Mr. Felix Bello.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No Comments yet