Okorocha hails Supreme Court judgment on Ihedioha’s suit

THE Imo State Government has accused the authorities of the Nigerian Agip Oil Company (NAOC) of neglecting its host communities in the state

THE Imo State Government has accused the authorities of the Nigerian Agip Oil Company (NAOC) of neglecting its host communities in the state

IMO State Governor, Rochas Okorocha has expressed satisfaction with yesterday’s Supreme Court verdict upholding, the judgments of the Election Tribunal and the Appeal Court in Owerri in throwing out the petition filed by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), candidate, Chief Emeka Ihedioha challenging his (Okorocha’s) April 11, 2015 election as governor.

In the same vein, the Imo State Government has cleared 17 persons for issuance of staff of office as traditional rulers in different autonomous communities.

Okorocha, who was first elected in 2011 as candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), joined the All Progressives Congress (APC) as founding member shortly before this year’s election and contested on that platform.

A statement signed by his Chief Press Secretary (CPS), Mr. Sam Onwuemeodo, hailed the judgment, stating that, he had advised Ihedioha, the immediate past Speaker of the House of Representatives, to drop the fight and join him in developing the state, regretting that he refused to do so.

Okorocha also warned that having won convincingly at the courts, he was prepared to ensure that Ihedioha stopped moving about in siren convoy or be arrested.

Hethanked his supporters for being behind him all through the period.

The lower tribunal had thrown out Ihedioha’s petition on grounds that it was not filed within the stipulated time with prescribed fee. The PDP candidate later challenged the judgment at the Appeal court, which also upheld it.

Dissatisfied, Ihedioha proceeded to the Supreme Court, which ruled yesterday, upholding the decision of the two lower courts.

In another development, a statement issued by the Secretary to the Imo State Government, Jude Ejuogu, in Owerri, the state capital on Wednesday, those cleared are D. E. C. Onyebuagu of Ibeasiagbe community (Oru West Local Council); Ifeanyi Caleb Akaneta, Ubureuze-Obazuogwa, (Mbaitoli Local Council); Prince Charles C. Onyeakudo, Okwe (Isu Local Council); Ugo Ndubueze Donatus Umuanokwo Okwuato (Aboh Mbaise Local Council); Bathlomew C. Agu, Akuametu Amaraku (Isiala Mbano), Nze Marcellinus N. Iheme, Umueze Egwu, Ihitte Uboma); Chief Louis Nwagu, Umuezela Ogwa (Ihitte Uboma); Sir Athanatius Ezekwe, Enyiogugu (Aboh Mbaise Local Council); Nze James Nnamdi, Ngurunweke (Aboh Mbaise); Chief Francis Anekwu, Avuvu (Ikeduru Local Council); James Uju Ezeroha, Ihitte Owerre (Orlu); and Dr. J. C. Ebi, Umuname, (Ezinihitte Mbaise Local Council).

Others are Alozie Jude, Mbamaonyeukwu (Onisha, Ezinihitte Local Council); Chief George Ben Uzoma Owerre Ebiri (Orlu Local Council); and Chief Onoeyi Boniface, Ekiteafor (Nwangele Local Council).

The statement urged anyone or group of persons who have ‘rejection or reservation’ against list of names to reach out to the Secretary to the State Government’s office within two weeks.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet