Nigerian varsities hit 170 as NUC okays Bayelsa Medical University

NUC Executive Secretary, Prof. Abubakar Adamu Rasheed

The number of universities in the country has increased from 169 to 170, as the National Universities Commission (NUC), yesterday, approved Bayelsa Medical University, Yenagoa.

The new university, the third to be owned by the Bayelsa State Government, also brings the number of such institutions that belong to states to 48, while federal and private universities account for 43 and 79, respectively.

Executive Secretary of the NUC, Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, issued the letter of recognition of the varsity to a high-powered delegation led by the Governor Seriake Dickson, at the commission’s headquarters in Abuja on Thursday.

The governor’s delegation comprised the senator representing Bayelsa West, Foster Ogola; Commissioner for Education, Jonathan Obuebite; Vice Chancellor of the Niger Delta University, Prof. Samuel Edonmiekumor; Ebitimitula Etebu; Coordinator Niger Delta University, Mr. Bennaiah Oye and the Acting Registrar, Dr. Akpoebi Adesi.

Rasheed said while the commission was opposed to proliferation of universities, the outstanding and consistent contributions of Dickson to the development of education in Bayelsa and his credibility left the commission with no other option than to recognise the school.

He commended the governor for the establishment of the University of Africa, which he said has more foreign input per capita than any other university in the country, saying NUC was happy that the Governor was showing the way on how best to build a university in Nigeria.

Responding, Dickson thanked NUC for the expeditious way the request and application for the establishment of the university was attended to.

He said sustained investment in education has been the priority of his administration.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet