Judge advocates expansion of Delta consumer protection committee

Justice Marshall Umukoro

The Chief Judge of Delta State, Hon. Justice Marshall Umukoro, has advocated for the expansion of the membership of the state committee on consumer protection to accommodate critical stakeholders.

Speaking when the Chairman of the Delta State Committee on Consumer Protection and Honourable Commissioner for Commerce and Industry, Mary Iyasere, represented by the Secretary of the committee, Mr. Felix Oseji, and other members paid him a courtesy visit recently, Umukoro said market women, religious leaders, primary and secondary school heads, among others, should be incorporated into the committee.

Umukoro stated that if children are made to imbibe the culture of checking expiring dates and NAFDAC numbers of products from young age, then battle against fake, adulterated and expired products would have started in earnest.

He promised the full cooperation of the state judiciary with the committee to enable it achieve the objectives of its formation.

Also speaking at a visit to the management of the Nigeria Immigration Service, Delta State Command, earlier the same day, the Comptroller of the Command, Baba Ali Zakari, averred that the committee’s commencement of operation is very timely considering the unwholesome practices of manufacturers nowadays.

The Immigration boss called on all stakeholders to join hands with members of the committee to bring offending manufacturers to book, to serve as deterrent to others who might have plans to engage in such evil acts.

Zakari promised that his command will not hesitate to draft officers and men of the command to work with members of the committee when proper enforcement begins.

Responding, Iyasere disclosed that the committee was set up in 2006, during the administration of Chief James Ibori, but had been very inactive since then because of lack of funding.

The Commissioner also said the current administration of Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, in line with his SMART agenda, approved the composition of the committee in June last year, and the members were inaugurated in December 2016.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet