Group decries refusal to swear in elected lawmakers in Bayelsa


A group in Bayelsa, under the aegies of Bayelsa First Initiative, has called on the state governor, Seriake Dickson and leadership of the state House of Assembly to swear-in three members of the opposition parties, who won election to represent their various constituencies.

The group comprising former elected and appointed political office holders in the state, accused the governor of conspiring with the Speaker of the state assembly Kombowei Benson, to stop the swearing in of the three elected members.

The members who have been demanding their immediate inauguration are, Watson Belemote of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), representing Brass Constituency 2; Gibson Munalayefa, of the Labour Party, representing Ogbia constituency 2, and Gabriel Ogbara of African Democratic Congress (ADC), for Ogbia constituency 3.

The embattled politicians were declared winners, two months ago by the Appeal Court, sitting in Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

But the leadership of the state assembly, dominated by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has continued to ignore them, whereas, members of the PDP, won their rerun elections in March, have been inaugurated.

The aggrieved members had sent a protest letter to the National Assembly and the Attorney General of the Federation (AGF), appealing to them to intervene.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet