Dogo retains Speakership of Yobe Assembly


Gov. Ibrahim Gaidam of Yobe state

THE immediate past Speaker of Yobe State House of Assembly, Alhaji Adamu Dala Dogo, has been unanimously re-elected at the inauguration of the Sixth Assembly in Damaturu, the state capital.

Dogo, who was nominated on the floor of the House by Alhaji Usman Adamu, representing Tarmuwa Constituency, represents Karasuwa Constituency in the 24-member state House of Assembly.

Alhaji Ibrahim Garba Kurmi, representing Fika Constituency, was nominated unopposed for the position of Deputy Speaker having been nominated by the former Deputy Speaker, Auwalu Isah Bello.

Yesterday’s proceedings of the House were led by the Clerk of the House, Alhaji Mohammed Nur Alkali, who administered the oaths on them, as well as other members.

The re-elected Speaker thanked members of the House for the confidence reposed in him and called on them to always consider the interest of the state above any other interest.

While assuring that he would lead the House to the best of his ability, the Speaker said: “This House will continue to work harmoniously with the Executive arm in providing meaningful programmes to the people of Yobe State.”

He also called on the members of staff of the House to accord elected members the needed support in the discharge of their legislative functions.

Shortly after the inauguration, the Speaker led members of the House on a courtesy call on Governor Ibrahim Gaidam where they pledged their outright loyalty to his administration.

Responding, Governor Gaidam said he appreciated the cordial working relationship existing between the Legislative and Executive arms of government.

“I hope such co-operation will continue to wax stronger for the overall development of this state, and improved living conditions of the people that re-elected us into office,” said Gaidam yesterday.

The Sixth Assembly has 22 members from the All Progressives Congress (APC) while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has two Of the 24 legislators, seven are newly-elected while the remaining 17 are re-elected for the second or third term.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet