Winners Announced For Abuja International Film Festival

DukerOrganisers of the 12th Abuja International Film Festival (AIFF) have announced the 2015 Award Winners. Each year, AIFF honors filmmakers from around the world in 15 categories for their exemplary work in 15 categories such as feature films, short films, animation, documentaries amongst others.

The award ceremony was held at the prestigious Silverbird Cinemas Abuja on September 29, 2015, and had in attendance top Nollywood practitioners, members of the diplomatic corps and star actors.

Nuhu Dalop’s short film Aisha’s Story got the Efere Ozako best experimental film award while the best Nigerian film award went to the movie titled Lasigbo. Kingsley Obaro’s short film Keko was awarded the most outstanding Nigerian short film while the award for the most outstanding foreign short film went to an Indian film The Only King. McCollins Chidebe Bad Drop was awarded the most outstanding comic film while the most outstanding award for film directing was won by the filmmaker multi-award-winning filmmaker Lancelot Imasuen for his effort in the movie Victim.

Notable Nollywood actress Hilda Dokubo received the award for most outstanding female act for her effort in Dagogo Diminas Stigma while the biggest awards of the festival—-the golden jury award and the viewers choice award were won by a Chinese film Painted Skin: The Resurrection and that of viewers choice was joint won by two Nigerian films Hazzezat and Shadows.

The theme of this year’s festival which was held between October 27 and 30, 2015 was “Creative Industry as Employer of Labour.” It had several discussions on issues that centre how the industry could alleviate the unemployment issue in Nigeria and stressed that the industry employs a minimum of 65 individual on a single film set and there were more possibilities for the industry to contribute extensively to supporting the government in creating employment for more Nigerian youths.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No Comments yet