Oliseh invites Arsenal’s Iwobi for Cameroun, Congo friendlies

IwobiSuper Eagles’ Head Coach, Sunday Oliseh, has added Arsenal FC starlet, Alex Iwobi, to the list of invited players for next month’s friendly internationals against Democratic Republic of Congo and Cameroun in Belgium.

Iwobi, who trained with the Nigeria U-23 squad ahead of an All Africa Games qualifying return leg match early March 2015, is eligible to represent Nigeria despite featuring for England at youth level.

World football-governing body, FIFA, has clarified that the 19–year old can dorn Nigeria’s colour without further ado as he did not feature for England in an official game.

The NFF yesterday said it has received from the English Football Association a list of seven matches that Iwobi played for England at youth level, none of which was an official game.

FIFA underscored that Iwobi can put on the green-white-green since he has permanent Nigerian citizenship and did not represent another association (country) in a match in an official competition.

The Super Eagles play the Leopards of the Democratic Republic of Congo on October 8 and the Indomitable Lions of Cameroun three days later, in Belgium.

The winner of the preliminary round between Swaziland and Djibouti will host the Super Eagles on November 9 in a 2018 FIFA World Cup first round qualifier, with the Eagles hosting the return leg in Nigeria eight days later.
All invited players are expected to arrive in Belgium on October 5.

Aside Iwobi, other players earlier invited for the games are Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France), Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars), Femi Thomas (Enyimba FC), Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany), Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal), Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France), Chima Akas (Sharks FC), Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), William Troost Ekong (FK Haugesund, Norway), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa SK, Turkey) and Austin Oboroakpo (Abia Warriors).

Others are Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy), Paul Onobi (Sunshine Stars), Obiora Nwankwo (Coimbra FC, Portugal), John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England), Rabiu Ibrahim (AS Trencin, Slovakia) and Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia).

Also in the list are Emmanuel Emenike (Al Ain, UAE), Sylvester Igbonu (FC UFA, Russia), Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium), Victor Moses (West Ham United, England), Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England) and Prince Aggrey (Sunshine Stars).

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No Comments yet