MTN creates history, beats IHS for third Telecoms Games’ title

Nigeria-Telecommunication-GamesMTN claimed two most important victories of the 2015 Nigeria Telecommunication Games (NTG) on the final day just as Airtel again maintained their stranglehold on the third place trophy of the football event concluded at the famous Onikan Waterfront Stadium on Lagos Island.

Twice champions in the past, MTN in the last two editions had been subdued by Etisalat, winners of the 2013 and 2014 seasons that ran into a bad perch this season.

First, MTN reclaimed the bragging rights over Etisalat in one of the qualifying games with a big win but faltered in the next game against newcomers and eventual co-finalists, IHS who won 2-0.

That set up the grudge finals and MTN didn’t entertain any fears of a second defeat as they insisted they had learnt from the first game.

In between the third place match and the finals was the induction of the new members of the Corporate Nigeria Games Hall of Fame, the first group of such honours for NTG players.

Etisalat’s duo of Chima Nnorom and Andrew Enebeli were joined by Oluwatosin Agbetusin of LM Ericsson and MTN captain, Joseph Akpata and Rotimi Odusola, who left MTN for Guinness, were inducted by MediaVision CEO, Fela Bank-Olemoh who was joined in the ceremony by two members of the Hall of Fame from the Nigeria Bankers Games, Femi Aribaloye of Skye Bank and Segun Babatunde of Sterling Bank.

It is the highest recognition conferred on participants in the Corporate Nigeria Games, who have distinguished themselves by outstanding performances and longevity in the games.

At the end of the competition, Ericsson’s goalkeeper, Hameed Agbaje was voted best goalkeeper of the tournament, while Moses Kalu of IHS won the best midfielder award with another Ericsson player, Francis Omotayo emerging the best defender. Tosin Balogun of MTN won the golden boots, just as his teammate, Abubakar Yusuf won the Most Valuable Player award.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No Comments yet