Plateau gets ex-legislators’ forum

He noted that apart from sustaining the nation’s independence, the forum would also enhance healthy interaction on state and national issues.

He urged members of the committee to work closely with the existing leaders and members of the House, adding that it would continue to tap from their wealth of experience in carrying out its legislative functions.

“I wish to use this occasion to acknowledge your individual and collective contributions on the floor of the House during your tenure. I further call on you to bring your wealth of experience to bear on the current debate on constitutional amendment. This would impact positively on the general wellbeing of our people.

“I hasten to note that as a steering committee, which has over 100 members, the task before you is onerous but not insurmountable, considering the calibre of people on the committee. I am a strong advocate of the independence of the legislature and I am happy that Plateau State has taken the lead by establishing an Assembly Service Commission.

“We will continue to look at issues tabled before us from a legislative perspective in the best interest of the majority of the people and we will continue to work in close harmony with other arms of government in delivering the dividend of democracy to the electorate”.

Speaking on behalf of the former legislators, Mr. Simon Lalong said that if the forum had been formed before now, former members would have been better off in terms of welfare. He added that their coming together was in the best interest of the state.

For some of the legislators, the occasion was an opportunity to meet again as some of their colleagues have passed on. Among those present were Chief Jethro Akun who became Deputy Governor in 2006 following Joshua Dariye’s impeachment, Chief Nicolas Musa, who is now a District Head in Langtang North, Chief Patrick Dokotri, Isa Chungwom Song and Simon Lalong.

Others included Alhaji Usman Zumunta Musa, Deputy Speaker to Lalong; Habu Shindai, one-time state Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Gambo Mbilamut; Nandang Bako; Michael Dapianlong; Mohammed Abubakar; Ibrahim Baba Hassan, current Deputy Speaker and Joe Bukar, Majority Leader.

No Comments yet