Alaibe, 150 PDP stalwarts to join APC in Bayelsa State

alaibeBARRING any last-minute hitch, former Presidential Adviser on Niger Delta Affairs, Ndutimi Alaibe, will this weekend lead 150 other political heavyweights to defect from the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Bayelsa State.

In what is already being described a ‘mother of all defections’ in the state, the defection would also see to the exit of 500 other party leaders across the communities for the APC, currently regarded as the ‘new bride’ in the state.

According to a document made available yesterday to the The Guardian in Yenagoa, the state capital by the arrowhead and an erstwhile Honorary Adviser to Governor Seriake Dickson, Chief Alex Ekiotenne, besides Alaibe other intending decampees include Senator Heineken
Lokpobiri; former Acting Governors Nestor Binabo and Werinipre Seibarugu.

Also on the pack are erstwhile Deputy Governor Peremobowei Ebebi, Senator John Brambaifa, Senator Clever Ikisipo, Ambassador Emmanuel Otiotio, one-time House of Representatives member, Dr. Stella Dorgu, former chairman of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) Board, Prof. Tarila Tebepah and Rear Admiral FBI Porbeni (rtd.)

The list equally constitutes erstwhile Reps members – Christopher Enai, Warman Ogoriba, Bonus Indiamaowei, Nelson Belief, Nadu Karibo as well as former Secretary to the State Government, Chief Gideon Ekeowe and one-time Deputy Speaker in the state’s House of Assembly, Fini Angaye.

Ekiotenne also disclosed that former commissioners such as Lionel Jonathan-Omo, Charity Vedalago, Sylvanus Abila, Chief Abeke Ebikake, Chief Diekivie Ikiogha, Godknows Powell, Capt. Matthew Karim (rtd.), Chief Nathan Egba, Topido Amananagha, Ebitimi Amgbare and Frank Oputu, were on their way out.

He said the defectors also include Chief Hings Dumbo, Selebina Saboh, Prince Abeki, Mrs. Tonye Apreala, Miebi Biribina and several ex-special advisers and loyalists, among others.

Ekiotenne noted that the defectors would formally declare for the APC at a mega rally this Saturday, August 15 and be received by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, APC National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, five governors, former Governor Timipre Sylva and top stalwarts of the
Party, including its Chairman, Chief Tiwei Orunimighe.

It would be recalled that since the PDP conducted the last primary elections for the state and National Assembly polls in the state, the ruling party had remained divided, resulting in suspensions, expulsions and defections of members.

Efforts by former President Goodluck Jonathan, the party’s Board of Trustees and critical stakeholders to resolve the crisis had yet to achieve desired results.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No Comments yet